Tuesday, January 26, 2010

The best at-home exercise DVDs!

Wow it's been a long time since I wrote! It might be hard to believe but once upon a time I was in good shape, had some serious muscles going on, and spent a lot of time at the gym. Well like most people that shit got old and I got lazy and before I knew it, 20 pounds has sneaked back :( So now I'm working out hard and trying to eat healthy to get it back off and get in the best shape I've ever been in. I want to look TONED and have abs! I'm sick of having a belly pooch and am getting rid it once and for all! I'm going to break this blog up into two posts, one on my nutrition, and one on working out. This one is about exercising. I've done so much research and experimentation so you will be getting all the info I've worked hard to get! Right now my exercise is all done at home, because I might be moving soon and can't commit to a gym contract although I'd love to get back into one soon. So I'm going to be doing a list of workout dvd's that I've found to be great.

Dvd Number One: Tae-bo Billy's Favorite Moves



http://www.amazon.com/Billy-Blanks-Billys-Favorite-Moves/dp/B000CS45LA


This is my NEW favorite. It has everything all packed into one workout. Plus the pace is not too fast and I can get through the entire thing without having to stop for a break which is rare for me. It does get me super extremely sweaty and gross. It has cardio, toning, and muscle strengthing. It mainly focuses on the obliques, to get rid of the love handle/muffin top look, and there is a short segment at the end that focuses on abs. There is one segment that really works the ass and glutes, that literally leaves me screaming because it is INTENSE!
The bad things are this is not for someone who isn't already familiar with Tae-bo. Billy is notorious for forgetting to do work both sides or not keeping the same amount of reps. So you have to improvise here. But I really recommend this one.







Dvd Number Two: Jillian Michael's 30 day Shred

http://www.amazon.com/Jillian-Michaels-30-Day-Shred/dp/B00127RAJY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1264539440&sr=1-1

This is a new one for me. I'm going this in conjuction with The TaeBo because I feel that that taebo doesn't have enough strength training, and this doesn't have enough cardio, for me personally. This dvd is really great in it has all the favorite moves of personal trainers. Everyday after I've done this, my body HURTS! As Jillian loves to say, "results don't come for free!"
So this one is a really good one for getting in that toning of the muscles and some additional cardio. The biggest plus is that each workout is only twenty minutes long! There is no excuse to NOT do this even on your busiest day. Also, this is marketed for women but a man can definitely do this. I challenge any manly man to do this and NOT get winded or worn out. It will kick your ass, male or female. This is also the only dvd you will need extra equipment which is only a set of handweights, and something soft to lay on for floor work.

DVD number Three: TaeBo Cardio
http://www.amazon.com/Billy-Blanks-Tae-Bo-Cardio/dp/B0000C0FBC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1264539584&sr=1-1

If you buy any ONE taebo dvd, get this one. I'm not currently doing this but I have in the past and it got me wicked results in pretty much no time. Of course, I did it 5 times a week though.
This workout is HARD and usually I can't get through it (40 minutes long) without stopping for 3-4 breaks. It is very fast paced. I recommend this one for everyone. Be warned though, it is INTENSE.

DVD Number Four: Taebo Bootcamp: Abs
http://www.amazon.com/Billy-Blanks-Ab-Bootcamp/dp/B0009OOA3K/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1264539707&sr=1-3

I found this at Goodwill for like $2 so I couldn't NOT get it. I haven't started it yet because I still need to lose a few lbs on the gut before any serious ab work will show results. I do plan to integrate it later on though. I've watched it and it seems to be a pretty hardcore ab workout, which is perfect, because I want to feel PAIN in a workout. Not like "ow ouch dammit shit ouch!!" kind of pain, but "damn that burns it feels good work those muscles!!" kind of pain.

and finally workout number 5, not a dvd but VHS (yes I know)
TaeBo 8 minute workout
http://www.amazon.com/Tae-Bo-Ripped-8-Minute-Workout/dp/B0013M4UVE/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&s=video&qid=1264539864&sr=1-7

I don't know where you can get this other than off amazon.com or try ebay. I found mine at Goodwill. This workout is not really 8 minutes but 16, I guess they don't count the warmups. But don't be fooled, this isn't by any means easy and is perfect for days when you're too tired/lazy or short or time. The other day I did this in conjuction with 30 day Shred and it gave me the perfect workout. The amount of sweat I get from this is the same amount as doing an entire 40 minute taebo workout. So yeah, pretty tough.

So I know I've talked a lot about the Tae Bo workouts but they really are by far the most effective and tough workouts. I burn over 500 calories (closer to 600) for a 43 minute workout. Please do give them a try. If it doesn't seem like your thing, here are some other goods ones I've tried:
Women's Health Train for your body type: http://www.amazon.com/Womens-Health-Train-Your-Body/dp/B000HEWEGM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1264540056&sr=1-1
Biggest Loser workout volume one: http://www.amazon.com/Biggest-Loser-Workout-Vol/dp/B000BQ7J70/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1264540086&sr=1-2
Taebo Basic Training bootcamp: http://www.amazon.com/Billy-Blanks-Basic-Training-Bootcamp/dp/B0009MFQQM/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1264540121&sr=1-4 (p.s. for basic this one is pretty damn tough)

Ok so those are all for now. I plan on getting a stability ball (I had one but it got destroyed by some kitty claws) and some resistance bands, for ab work and to burn even more calories during workout.
I will try to post updates about how it's going and post pics and all that. For now, this is it and I hope it's been helpful for some of ya!!

Sunday, May 31, 2009

MTV movie awards


So the MTV movie awards come on tonight, on MTV (duh) at 9 pm. I usually don't watch this or any other award shows, really. So why am I watching this? One reason and one reason only: TWILIGHT!
Yes, I am (mildy) obsessed with the books and movies and the kids in it and all that. It is funny because I'm older than the targeted demographic for the books/movies and I absolutley love it. The books aren't the best written literature, but they are fun and good reads and make a girl dream about things she will probably (you never know) never have. The movie doesn't really follow the book a lot but I still like it a lot and have seen it more times than I care to mention here. Also, the guys in the movie are incredibly freaking hot. Holy shit! I will admit I had never heard of ANY of the male actors prior to being in this movie. Pretty much I only knew who Kristen Stewart was. But the hot guys, of course I mean Edward, Jacob, Carlisle, Emmett and Jasper, I did not who any of the actors were. I knew Nikki Reed (Rosalie) only because I'd seen here in 13 a long time ago. I didn't know Ashley Greene at all (Alice). So I think that made the movie even more enjoyable and I think all the actors did a great job portraying the character. With the exception of Bella, I felt someone else could've done her better, but oh well.
So why am I watching the awards? Well, there is supposed to be the first movie trailer of New Moon on and of course two of the hot guys, Rob Pattinson and Taylor Lautner will be there and honestly I don't know which is hotter. I will say in real life Taylor is because I'm particulary fond of dark hair and eyes, but in the movie I will say Rob because his costumes and makeup are spectacular and the golden eyes really look awesome on him. I'm really looking forward to the next movie even though the book is incredibly sad to me and I probably cried at least 5 times reading it. Never the less, I will be there at the midnight showing of New Moon when it comes out. In November. Sigh.

Jill's super awesome burrito/enchilada recipe.

This is my own personal recipe for what I like to call a burrito/enchilada hybrid, known as a burrichilada. If the recipe is already in existence, then I'm not aware of it and not trying to rip off or violate copyright laws and all that BS. It consists of yummy tortillas filled with refried beans and whatever other fillings you desire. It is then covered in enchilada sauce of either red or green variety, topped with shredded cheese, then baked. It is bliss! I love love love mexican food, and this is so freakin easy, if you can boil water you could probably make this. Plus its very nutritous, low cal/fat, and all that other healthful blah, blah, blah stuff.
Here's what you will need:
about 4 tortillas of your choosing (I usually use low fat white or whole wheat, low carb varieties)
one can of FAT FREE or VEGETARIAN refried beans. Never under any circumstances, should anyone consume anything with LARD in it!
fillings of your choice, I usually use whatever I have on hand, like taco seasoning, extra cheese if I have enough, mushrooms, chopped onions, a can of rotel, etc.
your favorite shredded cheese. I like the 2% fat varieties, like monteray jack or the mexican blend.
one small can of red or green enchilada sauce. I like to mix it up and use different colors.
Add ons: I always try to have sour cream and tomatoes available when I fix this, because they are my favorites. Other stuff I like to eat with it are taco sauce (I get the Ortega mild or medium kind), chopped lettuce, guacmole, or salsa.

Here's what you do:
Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix the can of beans in a bowl and add a little warm water, enough to make the beans smooth and spreadable. Add all or none of whatever fillings you want. Spread equal amounts of beans into tortilla shells. Fold into a burrito. If you don't know how to fold a tortilla into a burrito shape, I suggest you learn how, because it keeps everything from falling apart and turning into mush. There are usually instructions on the back of the tortilla package.
After you've filled all the tortillas, put into a 9x13 baking pan thats been sprayed with a little non-stick spray, and cover the burritos with the can of enchilada sauce. Sprinkle on your cheese. Bake this bad boy at 350 degrees for like 20 minutes or until the cheese is melted and slightly golden. Then you know, put on a plate and all that jazz, and either top your delicious burrichilada with all your favorite toppings or put on the side to enjoy each bite a different way. And there you go. Homemade mexican food heaven! Please let me know how it turns out if you decide to try it!

Thursday, May 28, 2009

My favorite beauty products!

One thing I love and consider a passion is makeup. I have loads of cosmetics, but there are some things in my arsenal that I consider must haves!!! Yes, some are expensive, but in the long run they are worth it. As I continue to blog, I'll post things about new products I like along with raves and reviews.

First up, my RAVES!!

Emu oil lotion. Yes, it sounds weird and maybe even a little gross, but seriously, it is a miracle in a bottle! It has literally cured me of breakouts overnight and healed a would be very dark scar on my arm. It is amazing! I bought mine from luckyvitamin.com.

MAC makeup brushes. I have 2 in my collection, the 242 and the 217. I cannot recommend the 242 enough. It is a flat blending brush that will let you define, line, and make sharp or soft angles. I think it is around $23, but these brushes, with proper care, will last upwards of six years.

Merle Norman tinted moisturizer. I use this only in the summer time, and no foundation. I like how light it is on my skin and it provides nearly the coverage of foundation, but only without the greasy feeling from summer heat. It also has sunscreen!

MAC lipsticks, the satin formulas. Why the satin? I like how they feel, not too dry or matte, and give great color payoff . My two favorite colors are MYTH and BRAVE. If you can only get one, get myth!!

Kat von D eyeshadow palettes. This is a recent discovery. One palette contains 8 colors and retails for $34. Yes, it seems a little pricey, but the color payoff is unbelievable!! These colors lasted through an entire night of partying and sweating. Plus there is enough variety in the colors to create several different looks.

Bad gal mascara from benefit. This has to be my all time favorite, go-to mascara. It is incredible. I pretty much have ZERO eyelashes, and this gives that huge, fake eyelash look. The only problem is the $19 price tag, and at the rate I go through mascara, that is a little excessive. But so worth it. Get the regular black formula, because the tinted ones and the waterproof version do not provide the same oompf that the original does.

MAC eyeshadows. Almost all fomulas. Some of the chunky glittery ones aren't so hot, but most of the ones I have are the shit. The cost isn't, at $14.50 apiece :(. It's taken me a few years to build the collection I do have.

Ok, so this isn't a cosmetic, but it is a new rave. Bollywood dance aerobics dvd. It is SO much fun! I hate hate hate working out, but this is a lot of fun and works up a good sweat and makes you feel sexy and exotic. I got mine from Netflix, I'm not sure where you can buy it, probably from amazon.com. You get to use a veil or scarf during one of the routines.

Here are a few products I've tried along the way and don't recommend.
MAC foundation. I've tried both the studio fix and the foundation, and found both to be oily, nowhere near enough coverage, and cause nasty breakouts. MAC stuff usually rules, but this doesn't. Pass.

MAC mascara. I'm not sure what the name is, but it is the regular mascara. It stinks, is too wet, and doesn't provide any lash enhancement.

Loreal double extend tubes. No lengthening, no volumizing, just sticky lashes that have rubbery little tubes that are difficult to remove. At $10, I say spend an extra $9 and buy the bad gal.

Avon eyeshadows. Are you kidding me? Hard, clumpy powder with little to none pigmentation. And it isn't so cheap either. I tried it once when I was first starting out in my makeup adventures, and it sucked!

Mineral eyeshadows, like from bare escentuals. Maybe I just don't know how to use them, but the fall out is tremendous and deposits hardly any color. Even using my flat brush to pack it on, it doesn't work. I don't see the appeal at all.

Sunless tanners. No matter what, you'll always look a little "off". What is wrong with embracing your pastyness? I've finally given up on the battle and letting my skin be! It tans in the summer and ghosts out in the winter, so that is what I will let it do.


Ok, that is it for now. I will come up with some more thing I love or hate later, but this is a good starting list. I am also going to try some tutorials, which will have to be with my digi cam since I don't have a video cam. But hopefully you'll get the idea. :)

First blog!!

Hello everyone and thanks for coming to my blog! I don't plan on devoting my blog to any one thing; instead I will post about things I like, such as beauty, fashion, fitness, celebrity gossip, funny things I see out in public, observations, and so on. Hopefully you'll enjoy it and keep coming back and maybe even tell all your friends!!